CENTER HIGHLIGHT: Meet Our New Ushers!

Our new ushers have begun working this past week and so far, so good! If you see them on a shift please say hello and give them a hand if they need it. Here is a little info on each so you can get to know them a little bit:

20160120_175149Marilyn C.

Hometown: Logansport, Indiana

Occupation: Occupational Therapist with the South Bend Community Schools

Hobbies: biking, downhill and cross-country skiing, walking, sewing, knitting…I like to do most crafty things, live music and theater.

Favorite Food: anything except fishy-fish and mega-farmed (not fresh) veggies.

Favorite Live Performance: often whatever I last saw live ranging from Logansport Children’s Choir to the South Bend Chamber Singers; Jessye Norman to my Dad singing “I Know an Old Lady”; Adams High School Marching Band to Crosby, Stills and Nash; The Lion King on Broadway to Aida at SBCSC Summerfly.

Favorite Artist: Can’t choose. Someone to watch: Cassia Scagnoli, senior at Logansport HS will be doing great things.

20160112_180830Mary C.

Hometown: Navy brat- Coronado, CA and Norfolk, VA predominantly. Highland Park, IL and Richmond, VA more recently

Occupation: now- retired. Previously- Advertising; WNDU & WSBT; Time-Life Fulfillment (renewals)

Hobbies: horticulture, knitting, sewing, movies

Favorite Food; everything!

Favorite Live Performance: Lyric Opera- Mephistopheles or Placid Domingo singing the national anthem at a White Sox game

Favorite Artist: John Singer Sargent

Lastly: if you’ve met me, you probably know me

20160112_181212Linda D.

Hometown: Newark, New Jersey

Occupation: Retired high school English teacher. Worked for 17 years as a journalist at the South Bend Tribune before that.

Hobbies: Reading and writing

Favorite Food: Pizza

Favorite Live Performance: Lily Tomlin’s “The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe”

Favorite Artist: Bob Dylan

Lastly: I want to get my novels published!

20160112_180913John G.

Hometown: Valparaiso, IN

Occupation: Realtor

Hobbies: extreme gardening/antiques

Favorite Food: all foods

Favorite Live Performance: Led Zeppelin, Chicago amphitheater-1969

Favorite Artist: M.C. Escher

Lastly: I’m a child of God!

20160112_180858Peg G.

Hometown: South Bend, IN

Occupation: Registered Nurse in the Operating Room

Hobbies: Reading, medical mission trips, antique collecting, coffee roasting

Favorite Food: almost any kind of international food, probably almost any kind of food period

Favorite Live Performance: My Fair Lady on Broadway or Blue Man Group

20160112_180924Joanne K.

Hometown:  42 years in Martinsville, New Jersey.  Now we spend October – May in South Bend and June – September at the Jersey Shore.

Occupation:  Retired Administrator for a 10 doctor Podiatry Group

Hobbies:  baking, sewing, crocheting, painting (walls, objects…)

Favorite Food:  baked tortellini

Favorite Live Performance:  We attended more than 50 Broadway shows over the years and one of my many favorites was “Chicago”

Favorite Artist:  Benedict Cumberbatch, especially as Sherlock; musical group – 5th Dimension

Lastly: I am very much looking forward to ushering at the DeBartolo!

20160112_181222Andy K.

Hometown: Glenview, Illinois

Occupation: Intellectual Property Lawyer (retired)

Hobbies: Golf, gardening, fishing, building LEGO sets with my grandchildren

Favorite Food: Crab cakes (preferably from Clyde’s of Georgetown)

Favorite Live Performance: Simon & Garfunkel in concert

Favorite Artist: James Taylor

20160112_181302Ellen L.

Hometown: Could be South Bend. Since I graduated from Clay H.S  I have lived in Bloomington, IN, Astoria, OR, Salt Lake City and Ogden, Utah, Kent, WA, Columbus, IN, Huntsville, AL, Everett, WA, Seattle, WA, Brussels, Belgium, Grotteferrata, Italy and now South Bend again.

Occupation: Medical Technologist for almost 30 years. most recently in microbiology in a veterinary laboratory (retired)

Hobbies: Fiber Arts, more specifically knitting, spinning, weaving

Favorite Food: Cheese (just like Wallace from Wallace & Gromit)

Favorite Live Performance:  Diavolo, performances of Shakespeare in a replica of the Globe Theater in St. George, Utah, Cirque du Soleil, Shakespeare in London

Favorite artist: Today it’s Ansel Adams

20160112_180939Nancy Jo P.

Hometown: South Bend, IN

Occupation: Retired June 2015 as librarian at Washington High School in South Bend

Hobbies: Reading (appropriate for a librarian), aerobics, gardening

Favorite Food: Chinese

Favorite Live Performances: Nathan Gunn in Show Boat and Barber of Seville at Lyric Opera, Chicago

Favorite Artist: Nathan Gunn

Lastly: I’m looking forward to viewing many memorable performances at DeBartolo. I can only hope that my performance as an usher will meet your high standards!

20160112_181711Chuck R.

Hometown: South Bend, IN

Occupation: Sales

Hobbies: Backpacking and Hiking

Favorite Food: Spaghetti

Favorite Live Performance: Virgil Fox and the Pablo Lights

Favorite Artist: Chloe (singer formally with Celtic Woman)

20160112_181356Janice S.

Hometown: Niles, MI

Occupation: Executive Assistant at Memorial Epworth Center- South Bend, IN

Hobbies: Hiking, biking any outdoor activities

Favorite Food: Mexican

Favorite Live Performance: Godspell

Favorite Artist: Elton John

20160112_180809John Y.

Hometown: I was born and went through school in Napoleon, Ohio. After high school graduation I went to an Engineering school in Cleveland, Ohio. From there I enlisted in the Air Force for 4 years.

Occupation: I worked for Advanced Drainage Systems (owned by Frank Eck) for 19 years as a Plant Manager, worked for Sauder Woodworking Co. for 20 years as an Engineer and Supervisor, now retired.

Hobbies: Woodworking, traveling, camping, and family

Favorite Food: I like all foods, pizza tops them all.

Favorite Live Performance: Our grandkids are part of the Lerner Theater in Elkhart so my wife and I are there to watch them perform a lot. I have always enjoyed piano music, choir performances, plays, about everything.

20160112_180951Linda Y.

Hometown: My hometown is a small town in Northwest Ohio- Napoleon, Ohio.

Occupation: I am retired.  I was a preschool teacher.  Teaching preschoolers was never a job for me.  It was more an act of love every day.

Hobbies: My hobbies are quilting, sewing, scrapbooking and anything to do with our grandchildren.

Favorite Food: I love Mexican food.

Favorite Live Performance: I enjoy all live performances.  Right now, I’m thinking of The Blue Man Group.  That was wonderful.

Favorite Artist: Some artists that I enjoy are Kenny G, John Michael Talbot, The Beatles, The Beach Boys, The Fifth Dimension.  Am I showing my age?

Lastly: Well John & I have been married 50 years, that’s a big deal!  And I guess I’d like people to know I’m a Midwestern farmer’s daughter who is enjoying living in South Bend.  This is the biggest city I have lived in. It seems like it has a small town friendliness about it, but with more.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

