Meet Our New Ushers!

Hello everybody! Please take time to get acquainted with our 9 (!) new ushers. You may have seen these friendly faces on a shift already and you’ll be seeing more of them because they’re all doing such a great job! Here are some fun facts about each:

20150113_180124

Elizabeth H.

Hometown:  South Bend

Occupation:  Information Strategy Consultant, University Relations Department, University of Notre Dame

Hobbies:  Pilates, yoga, bicycling, reading, cooking

Favorite Food:  Fruit, especially local blueberries, cherries, and strawberries

Favorite Live Performance:  Itzhak Perlman, Yo-Yo Ma, Johnny and June Carter Cash, or Straight No Chaser

Favorite Artist: Yo-Yo Ma

 

20150113_180117Janine M.

Hometown: South Bend

Occupation: Lead Administrative Assistant, Enrollment Division, University of Notre Dame

Hobbies: Knitting, sewing, and reading

Favorite Food: Roast, mashed potatoes/gravy, carrots

Favorite Live Performance: Fiddler on the Roof

Favorite Artist: Harry Chapin

I’m married to Kevin (33 years), have two grown children (daughter and son), and expecting first grandchild (a girl) this month!

 

20150113_181004Janine P.

Hometown:  Chicago

Occupation:  Retired

Hobbies:  Research reading; distance walking; cooking

Favorite Food:  Artichoke hearts and Strawberry Twizzlers (not together!)

Favorite Live Performance:  Any Met performance

Favorite Artist:  Placido Domingo

I’m excited to be part of the Notre Dame community!

 

20150213_175025Linda F. 

Hometown: I grew up in Niles, Michigan and that’s where I live now.   I have a B.S. degree in Secondary Education from IUSB.

Occupation: I retired from the Postal Service after 37 years of service.  I was the first female union steward and also the first female mail handler at the South Bend office.
Favorite Food: Pizza, spaghetti, steak, Chinese.  I can go a whole year without ever having any fruit so I made a New Year’s Resolution to eat 1 piece of fruit a day.

Favorite Live Performance: Cats is my favorite live performance because one of the main cats reminds me of a person I knew and also it changed the way I felt about not liking cats, thinking of them as evil bird killers, to loving them as pets.

Favorite Artist: My favorite artist is Charley Harper.  I have 5 signed serigraphs.

 

20150113_180314Pauline B.

Hometown:  Born and grew up in Washington, D.C., but have lived in South Bend for 45 years

Occupation: South Bend Community School Corporation – Special Education Department – Budgets and Grants

Hobbies: Reading, Gardening, Grandchildren, outdoor exercise – walking and cross country skiing, – annual Grandma Camp

Favorite Food: I really like most everything and love to eat and cook so . . .  impossible to pick up a favorite

Favorite Live Performance:  Standouts have been:  Kingston Trio as a teenager at an outdoor amphitheater, once traveled to several cities to see Mikhail Baryshnikov, Barbara Streisand’s “final concert” in the mid-60s at Soldier Field, Pavarotti at the United Center – not a great venue, but worth it, Cats at several venues, many local productions at every level, high school, Notre Dame, community theater.

I love making snow angels!

 

20150113_180635Phyllis L.

Hometown:  South Bend, IN

Occupation: Retired teacher. I taught 38 years in the classroom in South Bend Schools and spent 5 years as a trainer and supervisor of tutors for the Fundations K-2 skills program in South Bend.

Hobbies: Reading, knitting, crocheting

Favorite Food: Pasta

Favorite Live Performance: Mamma Mia

Favorite Artist:  Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes

I love to cook and bake!

 

20150113_181024Reynaldo H.

Hometown: I was born in Robstown TX, grew up between Bowling Green and Toledo OH, but have lived in South Bend since 1967.

Occupation: I have worked a variety of jobs from white collar to blue collar to no collar, and currently work part-time as a limo driver.

Hobbies: I enjoy listening to and sometimes making music (sing, play a little guitar, compose a few songs).  I like to stay abreast of all things politically progressive and be active in some of them.  I also like to stay physically active.

Favorite Food: Mexican and I enjoy trying other international cuisine.

Favorite Performance: Hard to name a favorite performance, but the experience getting to hear Joan Baez way back in the 70’s was nothing short of awesome.  An old folkie at heart, I especially treasure the musical contributions of Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger.

I may be old, but I try hard not to act my age!

 

20150113_180335Susan C.

Hometown: South Bend

Occupation:  Administrative Assistant at the Institute for Church Life, University of Notre Dame

Hobbies: Hiking, gardening, reading

Favorite Food: Anything I don’t have to cook…and chocolate

Favorite Live Performance: In the Heights on Broadway

Favorite Artist: Bruce Springsteen

 

 

20150113_180132Tim K.

Hometown:  42 years in New Jersey, but now split between Jersey Shore (summers) and South Bend (Oct through April)

Occupation:  Retired CPA with a couple of the big firms

Hobbies:  None really in the traditional sense, but I guess I could say Notre Dame Athletics. I have season tickets to women’s basketball, and frequently at men’s basketball, and both teams lacrosse and soccer.

Favorite Food:  My wife’s lasagna (in case she reads this). No, seriously, that’s really it.

Favorite Live Performance: Having lived in New Jersey all those years and working in Manhattan, we’ve been to maybe 50 -100 Broadway shows and at least as many local productions. But the best was seeing Sutton Foster and Joel Grey in Anything Goes a few years ago, two nights before she left the show to do TV.

Favorite Artist: The Dave Clark Five, Rod Stewart (but the later, Great American Songbook Rod Stewart; not the earlier, cheesy pseudo-rock Rod Stewart)

Leave a Reply

