Coming Soon! FTT Presents: Six Characters in Search of an Author

The FTT department just wrapped up a very emotionally driven run of plays; Out of Orbit and Beneath My Skin, both plays were written, directed, cast, etc. by Notre Dame Students. It was a very successful run and our FTT students should be very proud of their hard work.

Coming soon, in November, the Decio Theatre will have the fun of hosting Six Characters in Search of an Author. This production was originally written in 1921 by Luigi Pirandelllo, with its premiere show in Rome, Italy. This play is considered a precursor to “Absurdism” and is essentially a play within a play or “mirror theatre”…a play that turns a mirror onto the theatre itself. In Six Characters In Search of an Author, an acting company prepares to rehearse the play The Rules of the Game by Luigi Pirandello. As the rehearsal is about to begin, they are unexpectedly interrupted by the arrival of six strange people. The Director of the play, furious at the interruption, demands an explanation. The Father explains that they are unfinished characters in search of an author to finish their story. Humor, confusion, sadness and anger follow…

The play is being directed by visiting director, Patrick Vassel. A brief introduction by the man himself; “I am honored and thrilled to be back on campus this fall adapting and directing Pirandello’s Six Characters in Search of an Author.  I was fortunate enough to perform as an actor in student and FTT department productions while I was a student here, and it was on campus that I discovered my love for directing.  I assistant directed Professor Siiri Scott’s production of Charles Mee’s Big Love and directed several plays for The St. Edward’s Hall Players.  After graduating in 2007, I moved to New York City where I completed my Master’s degree in Teaching at Pace University.  I’ve taught at nearly every grade level K-12, most recently teaching 7th grade writing at Explore Charter School in Brooklyn.  My directing and assistant directing work has taken me everywhere from Broadway to Off-Broadway, regional theatres and even a national tour.  As a writer, I’ve been developing a play with fellow alum Adel Hanash (’04) about the Arab Spring.  The Public Theater in New York presented a reading of the play last fall and we traveled to Tunisia this past summer for research.  I’m also a producing associate of Ten Bones Theatre Company, where I’m developing a new, original movement piece about modern communication and social media.  My next project is as the assistant director of HAMILTON, a new musical written by and starring Tony Award Winner Lin-Manuel Miranda and directed by Tony Award nominee Tommy Kail (In The Heights).”

Because of the unique way FTT will be staging this play, there will be more information to come on the inventive and abstract way they have staged the play. More to come!

Leave a Reply

