Catch Up with our Newly Graduated Ushers

It’s always nice to catch up with people who you haven’t seen in a while and ask a little about how they are doing and what they’ve been up to. Although I wasn’t able to reach all our graduated ushers since MurphyKate Montee is in Cambridge, Nick Huryk is in Seoul, and Sandra Laguerta is doing service work in New York, I was still able to get a hold of two of our newly graduated ushers, Alisa Rantanen and Elizabeth Demers (formerly “Maki”) and catch up a bit on their lives. Below is a little snippet of what they’ve been up to since graduation.

Alisa Rantanen – I spent the beginning of my summer traveling to California and northern Michigan to visit my collegealisa roommate and extended family, but eventually settled down in Chicago for my first day of work at Insight Product Development in mid-July. I interned at Insight last summer, though, so it was more like my second first day of work – what a strange feeling!

Insight focuses on medical design, so I am working on projects ranging from Parkinson’s disease to kyphoplasty. While I never thought I’d be designing for medical application, it’s compelling work and I love knowing that my designs will truly improve someone’s life. I’m also mentoring a few design students at UIC (University of Illinois, Chicago) and am enjoying getting to know the city better in my free time.

I often listen to music while I’m working; every now and then something from a performance at DPAC will play, reminding me of all the wonderful experiences I had there over the past four years. Miss you all and hope all is well!

Elizabeth DemingWhile I’m still working on coming to terms with life after ND and DPAC, there are so many new things happening in my life that are helping to ease the transition. 1239424_10151622788718388_649693096_nMy wedding to Daniel on August 3rd was absolutely perfect! We couldn’t have asked for a better day and everything really and truly went as well as we could have asked! Two months later, I am finding myself to be well-adjusted to married life, living in an apartment in Chandler, AZ (a suburb of Phoenix). My husband and I play Ultimate Frisbee three times a week and are especially loving it now that the weather has cooled off a bit!

I have been taking a few classes this fall because I just couldn’t stay away from academics for too long: Pathophysiology, Nutrition, and “Intro to Healthcare & Nursing”, what fun! In addition to classes, I just recently started a new job as a Nursing Assistant at a skilled-nursing facility just down the road from our apartment. The work is a lot different than being a student usher at DPAC, but I am really enjoying the hands on experience it is giving me as I prepare to apply to nursing schools! I only wish there was cinema-grade popcorn available at almost every shift…and that I could see all of the lovely DPAC staff and volunteers! I miss you all!

Leave a Reply

