Student Staff Highlight: Student Summers

Welcome back, students! We’ve missed you!

Before we start hiring the new student ushers, we had a chance to catch up with our current students. Here are some of their adventures from this summer:

hiking2Geri Lanham – Junior
“I spent the majority of my summer living with my grandparents while interning with US Congressman John Shimkus. During this time I played lots of pinochle and researched an odd hodgepodge of topics relating to the various casework being undertaken by the Congressional staffers, while also answering the phone and hearing wild tales from throughout the district. I wrapped up my time away by climbing to the highest points in Nebraska, Kansas, and Colorado with my parents and younger brother. Frank.”

Gaby Mercurio – Sophomore

Epson_logo

“Filled with arts and crafts, research presentations, new friends, box-packing, and communicating with business partners, my internship at Epson, Inc. was definitely an eclectic one.  I interned for six weeks with the Home Entertainment department, working particularly on home projectors and label makers.  On the projector side, I conducted demos and researched competitor products.  On the label maker side, I helped brainstorm creative ways to use label makers and ribbon printers and assisted in bringing those projects to life.   Working at Epson proved both educational and extremely enjoyable.  When the internship ended, I spent my summer days soaking up the sun, hanging out with my brothers, and relishing the California weather.”

Mitch McNanna – Junior

atmi“So I haven’t really been doing anything at all over the summer, just working full time at a local concrete casting company called ATMI Precast, helping them reorganize their file archive rooms and cleaning up their machine maintenance department.”

Eric Zidarich – Sophomore

drafting“As for my summer, I can’t say I did a whole heck of a lot of interesting things… I stayed with my girlfriend’s family in my hometown and worked for my dad, digging holes, moving equipment, and directing traffic for his contracting company. It was hard, but I got a killer farmer’s tan. When I wasn’t working, I spent time with friends and worked on a perspective drawing of the house I grew up in to keep my drafting skills from getting too rusty. ”

Nick Goldsmith – Junior
“I had an awesome summer!  After leaving DPAC in May, I traveled to Spain with the Glee Club and had a great time on our 16 day trip.  It was my first time out of the country so I experienced a lot of new things that helped me to expand my outlook on life.  After returning from Spain, I began my summer internship with music group Tonic Sol-fa in Minnesota.  This was a very rewarding opportunity and helped me to start learning the ropes in the music industry.

tonic

I traveled with the group for shows, helped them with marketing, and even got to record in a professional studio in Minneapolis.  I also took a class at St. Cloud State University.  After finishing my class and internship, I moved back to Des Moines, IA and then went on vacation with my family.  We traveled to the Gulf Coast of Mississippi and we have our own beach house with a private beach area.  We are just an hour away from New Orleans, LA and are planning a couple of day trips to the area.  I will be moving back to South Bend next week and I’m looking forward to a new school year!”

Jason Hofmeister – Sophomore

“As always, this summer went by very quickly. Partially because it’s summer, and that’s what it does, but also because of how busy I was. While at home in New York I worked 4 different jobs.

jason

A 3 day a week internship for a solar energy company, 2 days a week with my uncle, a contractor, and one day a week running deliveries for my dad’s florist shop. I spent one week on Cape Cod with extended family as a vacation and then two weeks in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains of New York as a camp counselor. My two weeks at camp were amazing and I can’t believe it’s already over. I have been going to this same camp for 11 years now. Even though this summer was crazy busy, I was still able to enjoy a lot of time with friends.”

Michelle McCarthy – Sophomore

“While I spent much of my summer working as a Mail Handler for the U.S. Postal Service, I was also lucky to do some traveling with friends and family! mailhandler I attended a French music festival in Montreal, explored a few museums in New York City, and spent a considerable amount of time reading beachside in Maine.  While the East Coast has been great, I could not be more excited for this upcoming year at ND!”

Cale Gaffy – Sophomore

large_bouncehouse

“I hope all of your summers went well.  I had a pretty tame summer this year at home.  I worked for Magic Bounce, a small inflatable company nearby my town, putting in about 50 hours a week.  When I wasn’t delivering beautiful bouncy bundles of joy to children, I spent my time reading, playing guitar, or hanging out with my girlfriend and family.  I’m even more excited to return to school this year and continue my experiences at Notre Dame!”

Wayne Huang – Sophomore

“I think all I’m missing is Mississippi and Alaska. “Over the summer I’ve been working at an insurance company doing super fun insurance stuff! I’ve also rounded out my life long goal of visiting all of the states in the country by passing through the Atlanta airport in July.

 

bnk_ml_logo (1)

Michael Chernauskas – Senior

“I interned this summer at Bank of America Merrill Lynch in New York in the investment banking department with a focus on Consumer and Retail companies.
I received a full-time offer and will be returning there after graduation.”

Leave a Reply

